GAA to Seek Sponsorship for Benjamin Azamati - CEO Bawa Fuseini

Azamati and Zada named LSC Athletes of the year

Azamati and Zada named LSC Athletes of the year – For the second consecutive year, and fourth time in school history, West Texas A&M swept the annual athlete of the year awards as track & field standouts Zada Swoopes and Benjamin Azamati were named the Lone Star Conference Athletes of the Year following the league announcement on Thursday afternoon.

Swoopes becomes the third Lady Buff track & field athlete to be named the league’s top female athlete after leading them to the program’s third national title.  She is one of eight Lady Buffs to earn the recognition alongside last season’s honoree Shanna McBroom (2021), Fatim Affessi (2019), Rellie Kaputin (2017), Renee Erwin (2014), Emily Brister (2009, 2008, 2007, 2006), Celeste Stevenson (2005) and Sarah Butler (2000).

Azamati and Zada named LSC Athletes of the year
Pic: West Texas A&M / Twitter. Benjamin Azamati and Zada Swoopes named LSC Athletes of the year

The Whitewright, Texas native was named the USTFCCCA National Field Athlete of the Year after finishing her career as one of the most dominant throwers in NCAA Division II history.  She grabbed 25 points to lead the way for the Lady Buffs after finishing atop the podium in the shot put and discus for the second straight year while finishing fourth in the hammer throw.

She finishes her career for the Maroon & White as a seven-time national champion, 14-time All-American, 16-time All-Region selection and 10-time LSC champion.  She holds the NCAA DII indoor shot put record holder and indoor and outdoor meet record holder in the event along with school records in the discus, hammer, and weight throw.

Azamati becomes just the second male student-athlete in 21 years to win the award in consecutive seasons since Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Roberto Garza in 2001.  He is just one of three Buffs to be named the league’s top male athlete joining Marshall Kasowski (2017) and Dustin Vaughan (2014).

The South Central Region Male Track Athlete of the Year broke his own NCAA DII and Ghana national record in the 100-meter during his first race of the season.  His record breaking 9.90 at the Texas Relays marks the fifth-fastest time in all-collegiate history and holds the top seven times in DII in the event.

He was equally impressive in the 200m as he matched his own NCAA DII record in that event at Jo Meaker Classic in Canyon after running 20.13. He also ran the anchor leg on the 4×100-meter relay that claimed the program’s first national title in either relay event with the fastest time in program history at 39.27.  In the indoor season, the Akim Oda, Ghana product tied the DII 60m record at 6.54, matching North Carolina Central’s Jason Smoots NCAA record set back in 2003.

2022   Benjamin Azamati, West Texas A&M, So., Track and Field
2021    Benjamin Azamati, West Texas A&M, So., Track and Field
2020   Zimari Manning, Tarleton State, Sr., Football
2019    Markus Jones, Angelo State, Sr., Football
2018    Luis Perez, Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr., Football
2017    Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin, Jr., Basketball
Marshall Kasowski, West Texas A&M, Jr., Baseball
2016    Marqui Christian, Midwestern State, Sr., Football
2015    Steve Naemark, Angelo State, Jr., Baseball
2014    Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M, Sr., Football
2013    Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian, Sr., Golf
2012    Nick Jones, Abilene Christian, Sr., Track and Field
2011     Chase Larsson, Cameron, Jr., Baseball
2010    Cyril Bouniol, Abilene Christian, Jr., Golf
2009   Bernard Scott, Abilene Christian, Sr., Football
2008   Sam Belt, Central Oklahoma, Sr., Basketball
2007   Nicodemus Naimadu, Abilene Christian, Sr., Cross Country/Track and Field
2006   Danieal Manning, Abilene Christian, Football
2005   Drew Beard, Southeastern Okla., Football
2004   Cole Province, Central Oklahoma, Wrestling
2003   Olan Coleman, Tarleton State, Football/Track and Field
2002   Steve Kelly, Tarleton State, Football
2001    Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track and Field
2000   Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track and Field
1999    Eddie Robinson, Central Oklahoma, Basketball

2022   Zada Swoopes, West Texas A&M, Sr., Track and Field
2021    Shanna McBroom, West Texas A&M, Sr., Softball
2020   Maddi Chitsey, Lubbock Christian, Sr., Basketball
2019    Fatim Affessi, West Texas A&M, Jr., Track and Field
2018    Kami Norton, Angelo State, Sr., Track and Field
2017    Rellie Kaputin, West Texas A&M, Sr., Track and Field
2016    Isabel Jimenez-Perea, Tarleton State, Sr., Golf
2015    Brenna Moore, Midwestern State, Sr., Golf
2014    Renee Erwin, West Texas A&M, Jr., Softball
2013    Katie Hines, Texas Woman’s, Jr., Softball
2012    Elsamartina Apo, Angelo State, Sr., Softball
2011     Carla Cooper, Tarleton State, Sr., Golf
2010    Aisha Adams, Angelo State, Sr., Track and Field
2009   Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Sr., Basketball
2008   Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Jr., Basketball
2007   Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, So., Basketball
2006   Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Fr., Basketball
2005   Celeste Stevenson, West Texas A&M, Basketball
2004   Michelle Hofmann, Angelo State, Softball
2003   LaTasha Mosley, Angelo State, Track and Field
2002   Brandi Robinson, Southeastern Okla., Basketball
2001    Precious Thibodeaux, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Basketball/Track and Field
2000   Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M, Volleyball
1999    Tracy Barnes, Abilene Christian, Track and Field

Source: gobuffsgo

By Athleticshour

Sekyere Richard has had a 10-year involvement in the sport of athletics. He holds a Diploma in Physical Fitness. Sekyere has experienced the sport as a middle/distance athlete, coach, and now journalist and blogger. Sekyere has published several articles on athletics from Ghanaian Athletics to World Athletics. He currently owns and manages the content and marketing development of Athletics Hour. "I am passionate about sports, love writing and interviewing, traveling, and meeting new athletes and coaches. I like to expose the hidden talents in the youth and I am always in search of talents across Ghana". I have volunteered in one of the biggest ultra-marathons in the world "The Elton Ultra Marathon in Russia. Covered many races in Ghana including ECOWAS CAA Region II Championship and multiple roads and track races in Ghana. In 2021, he launched the "Better Ghana Athletics Agenda", which will help support organisers, athletes and coaches in all directions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *