Afcon – Ghana will settle on a formidable 28-man roster

Ghana is expected to settle on a strong 28-man Black Stars squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon). In the next two weeks, Ghana head coach Milovan Rajevac plans to reduce his Afcon roster to 28 strong but quality players. Afcon – Ghana will settle on a formidable 28-man roster.

Last Monday, the Serbian tactician announced a 30-man provisional squad that will begin training in Doha, Qatar in preparation for the 2021 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Coach Milovan Rajevac and his technical staff will evaluate players in camp and during scheduled friendly matches over the next two weeks.

Two players will be cut from the roster, bringing the total number of players to 28 for the AFCON in Cameroon in January.

The Ajax sensational player Kudus Mohammed is already in a douth to make it to the Afcon. There will be an additional player to be removed from the squad again to make it 28-man-squad to represent Ghana at the Afcon.

The Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) is expected to commence on Sunday 9th January 2022 and end on Sunday 6th February 2022.

The Black Stars of Ghana provisional 30-man-squad

Goalkeepers – Joseph Wolacott (Swindon Town), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen)

Defenders – Andy Yiadom (Reading FC), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Girondins Bordeaux), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria de Guimaraes)

Midfielders – Baba Iddrissu (Real Mallorca), Edmund Addo (Sherif Tiraspol), Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal FC), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), David Abagna (Real Tamale United), Salis Abdul Samed (Clermont Foot)

Wingers – Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Dreams FC), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha), Kamal Deen Suleymana (Rennes FC), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Joseph Paintsil (Genk)

Strikers – Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Beitar Jerusalem), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Felix Afena Gyan (AS Roma), Benjamin Tetteh (Malatyaspor)

By Athleticshour

Sekyere Richard has had a 10-year involvement in the sport of athletics. He holds a Diploma in Physical Fitness. Sekyere has experienced the sport as a middle/distance athlete, coach, and now journalist and blogger. Sekyere has published several articles on athletics from Ghanaian Athletics to World Athletics. He currently owns and manages the content and marketing development of Athletics Hour. "I am passionate about sports, love writing and interviewing, traveling, and meeting new athletes and coaches. I like to expose the hidden talents in the youth and I am always in search of talents across Ghana". I have volunteered in one of the biggest ultra-marathons in the world "The Elton Ultra Marathon in Russia. Covered many races in Ghana including ECOWAS CAA Region II Championship and multiple roads and track races in Ghana. In 2021, he launched the "Better Ghana Athletics Agenda", which will help support organisers, athletes and coaches in all directions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *