46th SWAG Awards Full Winners - Benjamin Azamati and Deborah Acquah named athletes of the year.

46th SWAG Awards Full Winners – Benjamin Azamati and Deborah Acquah named athletes of the year.

The full winners of the 46th Sports Writers Association Awards (SWAG) as Benjamin Azamati and Deborah Acquah have been named athletes of the year. The 46th SWAG Awards was held at the Accra International Conference Centre on Friday, 17 December 2021.

H.E. Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, the country’s Vice President, Hon Mustapha Ussif, the Youth and Sports Minister, Hon Mustapha Ussif, the Ga Mantse, Nii Tackie Teiko Tsuru II, the Chief of Asogli Traditional Area and Hearts of Oak bankroller, Togbe Afede XIV, and many others, including SWAG President and renowned Sports Journalist Kwabena Yeboah were present at the event.

Benjamin Azamati the Ghanaian record holder in the 100 metres dash was adjourned as the Male Athlete of the Year after a tremendous season. He broke multiple records and was also a finalist at Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Deborah Acquah was also honoured as the Female Athlete of the Year. She has been phenomenal and consistent for the past few years. She is the current Ghana Long Jump record holder.

Samuel Takyi, a young boxer, won two accolades after obtaining the ultimate honor of Personality of the Year and Best Amateur Boxer after winning Bronze in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, which took place in the summer of this year.

Hasaacas Ladies have been regarded as the team of the year after winning five medals and their captain Janet Egyir receiving the best female footballer award.

Kudus Mohammed of Ajax Amsterdam and the Black Stars were awarded foreign-based best player, while Daniel Afriyie Barnieh of Hearts of Oak was chosen local footballer of the year.

Full list of winners of the 2021 SWAG Awards
Benjamin Azamati – Athlete of the year (Male)
Deborah Acquah – Athlete Of The Year (Female)
Ofori Asare – National Team Coach of the Year
Yussif Basigi – Club Coach of the Year
Samuel Takyi – Sports Personality of the Year
Samuel Takyi – Amateur Boxer of the Year
Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Home-based Footballer of the year
Fatawu Issahaku – Discovery of the Year
Alfred Lamptey – Professional Boxer of the year
Kelvin Alphous – Badminton Players of the Year (male)
Prospera Nantuo – Badminton Players of the Year (female)
Philip Selikem Yao Amoako – Chess Player of the Year
Janet Egyir – Female Footballer of the Year.
Hasaacas Ladies – Team of the year
Emmanuel Commey – Table Tennis player of the year
Naa Shika McCorley – Tennis player of the year (female)
Samuel Agbesi Antwi – Tennis player of the year (male)
United Takyi – Swimming Athlete of the Year
Mr. George Okoe Lamptey – Administrator of the year award.
Saddick Adam – Sports Journalist of the Year

By Athleticshour

Sekyere Richard has had a 10-year involvement in the sport of athletics. He holds a Diploma in Physical Fitness. Sekyere has experienced the sport as a middle/distance athlete, coach, and now journalist and blogger. Sekyere has published several articles on athletics from Ghanaian Athletics to World Athletics. He currently owns and manages the content and marketing development of Athletics Hour. "I am passionate about sports, love writing and interviewing, traveling, and meeting new athletes and coaches. I like to expose the hidden talents in the youth and I am always in search of talents across Ghana". I have volunteered in one of the biggest ultra-marathons in the world "The Elton Ultra Marathon in Russia. Covered many races in Ghana including ECOWAS CAA Region II Championship and multiple roads and track races in Ghana. In 2021, he launched the "Better Ghana Athletics Agenda", which will help support organisers, athletes and coaches in all directions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *